Executive Team

Meet the leaders who guide our journey forward.

Jill Tiefenthaler Headshot
Jill Tiefenthaler
Chief Executive
Michael L. Ulica Heasdshot
Michael L. Ulica
President and Chief Operating Officer
Shannon P. Bartlett Headshot
Shannon P. Bartlett
Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer
Crystal Brown
Chief Communications, Marketing, and Brand Officer
Kristi Craig
Chief Investment
Mara Dell Headshot
Mara Dell
Chief Human Resources Officer
Deborah R. Grayson
Chief Education Officer
Ian Miller
Chief Science and
Innovation Officer
Alex Moen Headshot
Alex Moen
Chief Explorer Engagement Officer
Kara Ramirez Mullins Headshot
Kara Ramirez Mullins
Chief Advancement
Sumeet Seam Headshot
Sumeet Seam
Chief Legal
Jason Southern Headshot
Jason Southern
Chief Technology and Information Officer
Kim Waldron Headshot
Kim Waldron
Chief of Staff and
Program Alignment
Kaitlin Yarnall Headshot
Kaitlin Yarnall
Chief Storytelling
Robert G. Young Headshot
Robert G. Young
Chief Financial
board of trustees

Meet the Board

Our organization is guided by a board of trustees comprised of international, distinguished educators, business executives, policy makers, and conservationists.

Jean M. Case Headshot
Jean M. Case
Chairman of the Board of Trustees
Katherine Bradley Headshot
Katherine Bradley
Vice Chairman
Brendan P. Bechtel
Afsaneh Beschloss
Afsaneh Beschloss
Ángel Cabrera
Ángel Cabrera
Elizabeth (Beth) Comstock
Elizabeth (Beth) Comstock
Joseph DeSimone Headshot
Joseph DeSimone
Alexandra Grosvenor Eller
Alexandra Grosvenor Eller
Paula Kahumbu
Deborah Lehr
Claudia Madrazo
Kevin J. Maroni
Strive Masiyiwa Headshot
Strive Masiyiwa
Dina Powell McCormick
Mark C. Moore
Mark C. Moore
George Muñoz Headshot
George Muñoz
Nancy E. Pfund Headshot
Nancy E. Pfund
Frederick J. Ryan, Jr. Headshot
Frederick J. Ryan, Jr.
Rajiv Shah
Rajiv Shah
Ellen Stofan Headshot
Ellen Stofan
Jill Tiefenthaler Headshot
Jill Tiefenthaler
Anthony A. Williams Headshot
Anthony A. Williams

Committee for Research and Exploration

The Committee for Research and Exploration (CRE) is an external, interdisciplinary advisory body of experts who actively support National Geographic’s mission to illuminate and protect the wonder of our world. The CRE provides strategic advice to help improve the impact of NGS’s funding opportunities.

Kamal Bawa
Veronica Boix Mansilla
Justin Brashares
Victor R. Caivano
Ruth DeFries
Anthony (Tony) Jackson
Andrew (Andy) Revkin
Jeremy (Jerry) Sabloff
Eleanor Sterling
Jyotika Virmani

Photo Credits from top of page: Renan Ozturk. Below: Michael Nichols, Andy Mann, Paul Nicklen, Ami Vitale, Christian Tryon, Kenneth Garrett, Mark Thiessen. 

Get updates about our critical work to explore and protect our planet.

Your impact begins today
By joining the Society, you will fund Explorers working to save wildlife, protect our oceans and ecosystems, preserve our ancient heritage, and solve the planet’s mysteries and challenges.