Skip to content

Hubbard Medal

The Hubbard Medal, National Geographic’s highest honor, recognizes lifetime achievement in research, discovery, and exploration. This prestigious award was first presented to explorer Robert E. Peary in 1906 by U.S. President Theodore Roosevelt, and it exemplifies our passionate belief in the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to change the world. Other distinguished awardees have included astronaut John Glenn, aviation pioneers Charles and Anne Morrow Lindbergh, marine archaeologist Bob Ballard, and primatologist Jane Goodall. Last year’s recipient was astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson.

2018 Awardee

Peter H. Raven

An internationally renowned botanist and powerful advocate on behalf of conservation, Peter Raven has devoted his life to educating people about the threats to Earth’s biodiversity. Described by Time magazine as a “Hero for the Planet,” he headed for 40 years the Missouri Botanical Garden, an institution he nurtured to become a world-class center for botanical research, conservation, education, and horticulture display. He is a trustee of the National Geographic Society and chairman of the Society’s Committee for Research and Exploration, and is co-author of Biology of Plants, one of the best-selling textbooks in botany.