National Geographic


The National Geographic Society has been recognizing and promoting the work of talented explorers, scientists, and researchers since 1888.


Every year, National Geographic honors the most outstanding achievements made by explorers, scientists and researchers across the planet through several awards: the Hubbard Medal, the Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year Award, the Further Award, the Eliza Scidmore Award for Outstanding Science Media and the National Geographic Society/Buffett Awards for Leadership in Conservation.

Each of these awards celebrates astonishing, groundbreaking work that best exemplifies the Society’s passionate belief in the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to change the world. 


Top Image (Climber): Cory Richards/National geographic; Hugo Van Lawick (Hubbard Medal); Elliot Ross (Explorer of the Year); Niles Ackermann (Further Award); KeRenda Zambrano (Buffett Awards); Eliza Scidmore (eliza scidmore)