The red line on this map shows how far north and east the boundary of Mexico stretched in 1821 when it won its independence from Spain. Between 1836 and 1853, Mexico lost the land that now makes up all or part of ten present-day U.S. states (green areas.)

Map by National Geographic Society

Download this file