• On September 25, 1237, Henry III of England and Alexander II of Scotland signed the Treaty of York at York, England. The Treaty of York established most of the current boundary between England and Scotland, making it one of the oldest existing political borders in the world.
    Although both England and Scotland are part of the United Kingdom (along with Wales and Northern Ireland), there are many cultural distinctions between the countries. English is the official language in both countries, for instance, but Scotland also recognizes Scottish Gaelic and Scots, while England also recognizes Cornish.
  • Term Part of Speech Definition Encyclopedic Entry
    border Noun

    natural or artificial line separating two pieces of land.

    Encyclopedic Entry: border
    boundary Noun

    line separating geographical areas.

    Encyclopedic Entry: boundary
    Cornish Noun

    people and culture native to Cornwall, England.

    culture Noun

    learned behavior of people, including their languages, belief systems, social structures, institutions, and material goods.

    distinction Noun


    establish Verb

    to form or officially organize.

    Gaelic Noun

    Celtic language and culture native to what are now Scotland, Ireland, and the Isle of Man.

    official language Noun

    language adopted by the government of a nation or other political unit.

    political Adjective

    having to do with public policy, government, administration, or elected office.

    recognize Verb

    to identify or acknowledge.

    Scots Noun

    Germanic language spoken in Scotland and Northern Ireland. Also called Lowland Scots.

    treaty Noun

    official agreement between groups of people.

    United Kingdom Noun

    nation made of the countries of England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.