The Euro became the currency of the European Union in 1999. Today, the Euro is the official currency of 17 nations.

Photograph by Gerardo Grassl, MyShot

Oh no! It appears that there was an error with your submission. Care to try again?

Coming soon!

You've found a feature that is not available.

Get notified when this feature is available

  • On January 4, 1999, the euro became the common currency of 11 European countries—Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain. Known by the symbol €, the euro is the official currency of the European Union. The countries where it is accepted are known collectively as the Eurozone. More than 325 million people use the euro daily.

    Euro coins have one side common to all countries, displaying the coin’s value and a map of Europe. The other side features country-specific images. Euro banknotes are issued in a variety of colors and display images of European bridges and architectural features. Currently, the euro is the sole currency of 17 EU member nations and an important international currency.

  • Term Part of Speech Definition Encyclopedic Entry
    currency Noun

    money or other resource that can be used to buy goods and services.

    euro Noun

    unit of currency of the European Union.

    European Union Noun

    association of European nations promoting free trade, ease of transportation, and cultural and political links.